Skip to Content

    Ride pricing and charges

    Skip to :

    Upfront pricing

    When you request a ride the Lyft app will show the ride’s upfront price. This price may vary depending on:
    • Ride type.
    • Time.
    • Traffic.
    • Driver availability.
    The final price of a ride could differ from the upfront price because there was a:
    • 10 second or more delay before requesting a ride.
    • Destination added after requesting a ride.
    • Longer than estimated trip.
    • Tip added.
    Lyft fare is based on ride route and ride type, as well as ride availability and demand. When many passengers in your area request a ride at the same time, ride prices will likely be higher than normal. You can expect higher demand during commute hours, big events in town, and when bad weather hits.

    Fare estimates

    Lyft shows you fare estimates before you request a ride, so you know what to expect. To calculate the cost of your next Lyft ride, enter your pickup and drop-off location into the app before requesting a ride.
    Fare estimates don't reflect any discounts, traffic delays, or factors like adding a stop or changing your destination. Any changes to your ride will cause your final ride price to be different from your fare estimate.

    Included fees

    The following fees are included in your upfront price:
    • Lyft fare: Based on ride route, ride type, ride availability, and demand.
    • Tolls: Covers any tolls your ride passes through.
    • Service fee: Flat amount based on the region.
    • Third-party fees: Includes any local fees like rideshare taxes, surcharges, and airport fees.

    'Pending' charge

    A Lyft transaction marked as ‘pending’ isn't a charge. ‘Pending’ transactions are temporary authorizations from the Lyft app to make sure your payment method works.
    Once your bank provider processes the transaction, the temporary authorization will either disappear completely or appear as a refund within 5-7 business days.
    You may see a pending transaction on your payment method when you:
    • Create a Lyft account.
    • Request a ride.
    • Update your payment method.
    • Change your destination.
    • Add a stop on your route.
    • Rent a Lyft Bike or Scooter.
    The temporary authorization amount depends on the ride cost, region, and selected ride type. Once your payment method is successfully charged, Lyft immediately releases the temporary authorization.
    However, your bank may take 5–7 business days to release temporary authorizations on your account.
    If the temporary authorization causes your account to overdraft, you’ll need to contact your bank or financial institution for next steps.

    Payment frequency

    If your payment frequency is set to daily, you’ll pay once for all your rides that day. This simplifies your charges while giving you the same cost breakdown for each ride.
    For example, if you take a ride to work for $25, then back to your house for $15, you’ll be billed one time for $40. You’ll still see the cost breakdown for each ride in your receipt.
    See all final ride charges (individual or combined) in the ‘Ride history’ tab of the app.

    How it works

    You now have the option to receive either:
    • One final charge for multiple rides taken in a day.
    • Individual charges after each ride.
    If you choose to receive one charge, you’ll see a breakdown of the fare after the ride. You’ll also see a reminder that the ride charge will be combined in your daily payment. We'll send you individual ride receipts and an itemized daily receipt for all rides.
    This feature isn’t available for business accounts or rides paid with PayPal, Venmo, or online banking.
    After each ride, you'll receive a recap of the ride price. However, your daily ride receipt will show the final charge of all rides taken in a day. This final charge on the daily ride receipt is what you'll pay.

    Opting out

    You can change your payment frequency at any time.
    To change your payment frequency:
    1. Open the Lyft app’s main menu, then tap ‘Payment.’
    2. Tap ‘Payment frequency.’
    3. Choose your preferred payment frequency.

    Resolving charge issues

    If you see multiple charges, overcharges, or unrecognized charges, follow the instructions below to resolve.

    Finding ride charges on your bank statement

    The description of a final charge on your bank statement includes the number of rides taken and the charge date. The transaction will look like this: Lyft *3 rides 3/16 lyft.com/charges
    A Lyft transaction marked as ‘pending’ isn't a charge. ‘Pending’ transactions are temporary authorizations from the Lyft app to make sure your payment method works.
    Once your bank provider processes the transaction, the temporary authorization will either disappear completely or appear as a refund within 5-7 business days.
    You may see a pending transaction on your payment method when you:
    • Create a Lyft account.
    • Request a ride.
    • Update your payment method.
    • Change your destination.
    • Add a stop on your route.
    • Rent a Lyft Bike or Scooter.
    The temporary authorization amount depends on the ride cost, region, and selected ride type. Once your payment method is successfully charged, Lyft immediately releases the temporary authorization.
    However, your bank may take 5–7 business days to release temporary authorizations on your account.
    If the temporary authorization causes your account to overdraft, you’ll need to contact your bank or financial institution for next steps.
    You can see all final ride charges (individual or combined) in the ‘Ride history’ tab of the app.

    Charged for a ride I canceled

    You may be charged a cancel fee if you cancel:
    • More than 30 seconds after the driver accepts your ride.
    • When the driver should arrive within 5 minutes of the original estimated arrival time.
    • 3 or more rides in a 15-minute timeframe.
    • A Lyft Shared ride after the driver accepts your ride request.
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is.
    Note: You can cancel a ride within the first 5 minutes after pickup if someone else took your ride or if there’s another critical issue.
    If you request a ride for someone else, you’ll be charged any cancel or no-show fees for that ride.
    For Lyft Scheduled rides, we may charge a cancel fee if:
    • You cancel the ride after a driver has been matched.
    • The driver is on their way to pick you up.
    • The driver is scheduled to arrive within the designated pickup window.

    Charged for a ride the driver canceled

    You may be charged a no-show fee if your driver:
    1. Arrived to pick you up.
    2. Waited the allotted time or longer.
    3. Attempted to contact you, or you contacted your driver.
    These fees go towards compensating your driver for their time and gas, and may vary based on how busy it is.

    Shared payment methods

    If your payment method is on a family account or was added to a friend’s Lyft account, following up with friends or family is the only way to resolve the issue.

    Dispute unfamiliar ride charges

    You can dispute the charge directly in your app, and it will be reviewed automatically.
    To dispute a charge:
    1. Open the Lyft app’s main menu.
    2. Tap the ‘Ride history.’
    3. Tap the ride that you need help with.
    4. Tap ‘Get help’ at the bottom of the screen.
    See also:

    Still need help?